AFCEA Announces Spring 2018 Award Winners

Fairfax, VA

Posted on: May 17, 2018

Association recognizes outstanding service in technology, intelligence and global security.

Fairfax, VA, April 20, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Through its awards program, AFCEA International honors the extraordinary contributions of individuals in the communications, electronics, intelligence and information technology disciplines. In addition, the association’s chapters are recognized for their exceptional support to AFCEA.

Among the winners of the top awards are:

Chair’s Superior Performance Award: Recognizes superior service to AFCEA over a sustained period of time.

Lt. Gen. Michael J. Basla, USAF (Ret.), CACI
Harri Larsson, Tinnander Teknik
Sandi King, Cisco

Charlie Allen Award for Distinguished Intelligence Service: Honors senior-level intelligence professionals who are making significant contributions.

Maureen Baginski, chairman, National Intelligence University Board of Visitors

Adm. Jon L. Boyes Medal for Distinguished Service to AFCEA: Presented for exceptional career service to AFCEA.

Chief Master Sgt. Tom Gwaltney, USAF (Ret.)

Gen. James M. Rockwell AFCEAN of the Year: Given for exemplary service to AFCEA during the past year.

Jane Hefner-Brightwell, Walker & Associates Inc.

Distinguished Award for Excellence in Engineering: Awarded for sustained excellence in engineering.

Jacqueline Janning???Lask, Agile Combat Support, AFLCMC/WNE

Meritorious Rising Star Award for Achievement in Engineering: Recognizes junior/mid-level excellence in the engineering field.

Dr. Christopher Niessen The MITRE Corporation

Distinguished Award for Excellence in Information Technology: Awarded for sustained excellence in information technology.

Travis M. Harris U.S. Marine Corps Forces Europe and Africa

Meritorious Rising Star Award for Achievement in Information Technology: Recognizes junior/mid-level excellence in the information technology field.

2nd Lt. Dillon Andrews, USAF 86th Communications Squadron

Exceptional Contribution to STEM Education Award: Honors an individual or team that has made significant contributions to furthering science, technology, engineering and math education in K-12, colleges and universities.

Master Sgt. Shaun Herron, USAF, 33rd Network Warfare Squadron

Technology Innovation Award: Recognizes an individual or team that has created an innovative and proven new technology product, service, process or solution.

Joshua Lee, Defense Information Systems Agency–Pacific

Additional individuals recognized received the Medal of Merit, Meritorious Service and Leadership awards. The winners will be honored May 14 prior to the Defensive Cyber Operations Symposium May 15-17 at the Baltimore Convention Center.

AFCEA International, established in 1946, is a non-profit membership association serving the military, government, industry and academia. Join online.

Maryann Lawlor

AFCEA International

(703) 631-6179